Faculty of Theology

The main goal of the Faculty of Theology at Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University is to educate the next generation of Muslim intellectuals by preparing professionals in the areas of Islamic theology, history, law, language, and Islamic economics. 

The Faculty offers educational programs based on government educational standards for graduate and undergraduate programs, as well as carrying out research in areas related to Islamic theology and providing professional programs. The faculty has a license to conduct educational activities, issued by the Ministry of Education and Science of the Kyrgyz Republic

Currently, over 250 students from Kyrgyzstan, Turkey, China, and other countries are enrolled at the Faculty of Theology. Our Faculty is a methodical and methodological center for higher and vocational Islamic education in Kyrgyzstan. 

Graduates from our Faculty can work as imams in mosques in Kyrgyzstan and Turkey, can teach religion classes in schools and vocational schools, can work in religious affairs, in government agencies, or in scientific organizations. 

About the Discipline

The discipline of theology (Islamic studies) includes the basic divisions of theology, the sources of theological thought, the bases of disciplines and religious rites, historical forms and practical activities of religious organizations, religious services, and religious and cultural heritage in a variety of contexts. Theological study is aimed at the identification, analysis, and interpretation of the significant aspects of religious life and correlation with the the norms of religious traditions. One of the most important areas of the disciplines is the study of the history and modern relationships between religious organizations with other religious institutions, as well as with governments and societies. 

Students of theology study a wide variety of religious disciplines, including the history of religion, religious pedagogy, religious philosophy, and religious sociology. 

History of the Faculty

Since independence, Kyrgyzstan has gone through significant changes in the political, economic, social and religious life of the country. These changes have had and continue to have a large influence on the present and future of the country. Kyrgyzstan is still located in a transition period, and as such religious and ethnic affairs have fallen from view. Thus, establishing religious education as a way to remedy gaps in people's religious knowledge has become necessary. Seeing as KTMU is one of the most important universities in Kyrgyzstan, the Faculty of Theology and its two departments, Theology and Religious Studies, were opened in 2011. 

Academic Programs

Currently, there are two departments: the Department of Theology and the Department of Religious Studies. 

The Bachelor's degree requires four years of studies, plus one year of preparatory language courses. Students study Kyrgyz and Turkish, the languages used for education. Arabic is taught as a foreign language throughout a student's studies. 

Prof.Dr. Kemal POLAT

Greetings from the Dean

Dear Students,

The history of religion is as old as the history of humanity, and there has never been a society and community without religion in history. Therefore, theology education occupied an important place in the life of all societies and nations throughout the history of humanity. The role of theology education cannot be denied in the emergence of schools of thought and the shaping of the order of human relations.

Theology education and training has always been important in the life of the people of Kyrgyzstan, which has a long history and scientific tradition. This is why the Kyrgyz Republic has not neglected the theology field, has taken into account religious education and training from the very beginning. As a result, theology colleges at the secondary education level and the Theology Faculties at the higher education level have taken their places in the Kyrgyz education system as educational institutions.

In the modern world, it is known that religious beliefs are extremely effective on individuals and society. In parallel with the international conjuncture, the issue of religion has become more and more important in the independency process of Kyrgyzstan. This situation has brought theology education to the fore in terms of religious education and teaching. If we consider the place and importance of the Theology Faculties within the universities, the quality of the religious knowledge produced there and their social functions, we can better understand the place and importance of our Faculty.

Due to the fact that religion is a rising value in today's world, there is a great need for our Faculty as an institution that will produce healthy information in the field of religion in Kyrgyzstan, provide social integration and enlightenment, far from emotionalism and paradigms coming from tradition, providing undergraduate education in the light of intelligence and science based on basic resources. Therefore, Kyrgyzs-Turkish Manas University Faculty of Theology will serve the material and spiritual development of society and humanity by carrying out various scientific and social activities.

Dear Students,


The main aim of our faculty is to raise theologians who are able to reach, read and evaluate the main sources of Islam, and take them as a reference while forming the world of mind. Those who are aware of the knowledge created in the field of theology in the past, are at peace with the values ​​of the society in which they live, are able to evaluate the cultural heritage, who interpret the life with their own knowledge, can produce solutions to problems from an academic point of view. Those, who have free thought, free conscience, and knowledge. I congratulate you for choosing to study at such an important faculty and to be a theologian.

Dear Students,

Our duty is not only to learn and convey knowledge, but also to present the values ​​we believe and learn, first of all, to ourselves and to humanity. In addition to basic moral qualities such as sincerity, fidelity, merit, loyalty, honesty, justice, mercy and trust; It is obliged to represent our religion by living it in the best way in fields such as science, culture, art, aesthetics and the beautification of social life. We all have great responsibilities in this regard. Being aware of this, we hope that you will make an effort to realize your education and training; I wish you a healthy, successful and peaceful academic year. You are the apple of our eye and the shining stars of this country…

Greetings, with love and respect…






Secretary of the Faculty
Secretary of the Dean